Revisiting Tailwind CSS: Building a Responsive Landing Page.

ยท

2 min read

Primary technology used: Tailwind CSS.

Introduction

I'll walk you through a simple yet powerful responsive landing page I built using Tailwind CSS and discuss some key functionalities I utilised.

Key Technologies

  • Tailwind CSS (v1.0): Tailwind CSS is a utility-first CSS framework that provides low-level utility classes to build designs directly in your markup. It's known for its simplicity, flexibility, and developer-friendly approach.

*Note...That said, I do find Tailwind to be very messy. I need to explore new ways of trying to add order to multiple lines of Tailwind CSS.

Tailwind Functionality Showcase

1. Responsive Design:

One of Tailwind's standout features is its responsiveness. In the provided HTML code, you'll notice classes like sm:hidden and md:flex-row, which ensure a good transition between different screen sizes. This responsiveness is crucial for creating a consistent user experience across various devices.

2. Utility Classes for Styling:

Tailwind allows you to apply styles directly in your HTML. For instance, classes like bg-blue-500, text-white, and rounded-full bring a visually appealing design without the need for custom CSS. This approach can speed up the development process and keeps your styles organised.

3. Flexbox Utility:

Flexbox is a powerful layout tool (we know this!), and Tailwind makes it easy to use. The flex and justify-between classes in the navigation section (<nav>) create a flexible container with space between the elements, ensuring a clean and organised layout.

4. SVG Integration:

Tailwind doesn't stop at styling; it integrates well with SVGs. In the navigation section, you'll find an SVG logo, showcasing Tailwind's compatibility with other web technologies.

5. Form Styling:

Even form elements are made more manageable with Tailwind. The form section includes various utility classes (bg-gray-700, rounded-lg, etc.) to style inputs and buttons, ensuring a consistent and visually pleasing design.

Possible Improvements

While revisiting Tailwind and building this landing page was a worthwhile experience, there are areas for improvement!

Organising Styles:

As the project grows, maintaining a clean and organised structure becomes crucial.

This is what I need to research more on...

I believeTailwind CSS' configuration files can help to manage and customise my utility classes effectively...I shall have to explore this.

Conclusion

I enjoyed revisiting Tailwind and in my mind it has proven itself as a valuable tool for rapidly building responsive user interfaces.

The landing page I created showcases the power of Tailwind - the build took me about 40 mins. All in all, quite quick.

Nevertheless, I prefer my CSS Style sheets. Call me old fashioned?!

Thank you for reading! Please don't forget to connect with me via LinkedIn.

ย