I Broke Away From Tutorial Hell...BUT

I Broke Away From Tutorial Hell...BUT

Damn, it was difficult.

I felt I needed guardrails to keep me on track. I was afraid that without tutorials, I'd expose myself as knowing nothing.

And the truth?

Once I broke away, I knew NOTHING.

It hurt.

It hurt BIG time.

But I knew that in order to make actual progress, I needed to build.

I needed to build things that CONFIRMED & CONSOLIDATED my learnings.

This is what happened next...

I started to build small 'toy' apps (to-do apps, meme-generators etc.)

I started to UNDERSTAND how the pieces fit together.

Yet I started to realize just how BAD I was...This was good because it gave me a baseline as to where I needed to get to.

I started to form several small HABITS every day to help me improve my JavaScript...

NOW? 6-months on, I am a better JavaScript developer, BUT I've still got A LOT to learn - but this time, on MY terms, in MY way.

Taking back control of MY learning was the best thing I did.

Tutorials are GREAT - I still use them - but changing my relationship and interaction with them during the learning process was key for me to make progress. (I still am!)

Cheers.